What is Japan Rail Pass?

The Japan Rail Pass (also commonly called JR Pass) is a cost effective rail ticket which can be used for long distance train travels everywhere in Japan. The pass can be utilized only by foreign visitors who hold a Tourist visa and will stay in Japan no longer than 90 days. It ensures unlimited use of JR trains,as well as the JR bus services, throughout the country. The Pass can be obtained for one, two or three weeks. It comes in two types: standard and green pass. The second-green pass (first class pass) gives more spacious seats than ordinary pass.

Uses of the Japan Rail Pass

The Japan Rail Pass can be used everywhere in Japan except of travelling with NOZOMI and MIZUHO trains on the following routes: Tokaido, Sanyo, and Kyushu Shinkansen.

Uses of the Japan Rail Pass in Tokyo

At first many travelers might think that getting around Tokyo is a complicated and time consuming process, but the public transport system is so advanced that travelers can enjoy a smooth and easy travel around Tokyo as well as connecting cities. The Japan Rail Pass guarantees helps tourists navigate the busy city without any problems.
The JR Pass allows travelers to access 5 major Tokyo lines- Yamanote, Keihin-Tohoku Line, Saikyo, Chuo and Shōnan–Shinjuku lines. Japan Rail pass will also allow you to comfortably get to and from the airport. Japan has two main airports – Narita and Haneda, Haneda Airport departs from Hamamatsucho Station, on the Yamanote line with the travel time of 13 minutes. The Narita airport connects with the Shinjuku Station by the help of the Narita express. Your JR pass will cover your travels within the city as well as connecting to the airport.

Uses of the Japan Rail Pass in Kyoto

The Kyoto station is the home of the central transportation and the travels are covered by your JR Pass, it allows you to travel to Osaka and Japan as well as many other destinations by the Shinkansen train. The locals lines of Kyoto are the Sagano and Nara line.

Uses of the Japan Rail Pass in Osaka

If you have chosen to land in Kansai airport your JR Pass will connect you from Kansai Airport to the Shin-Osaka and Tennoji Stations. Your JR Pass will also allow you to travel from the Shin-Osaka Station to Tokyo, Kyoto, Nagoya, and other destinations.

Japan Rail Green Pass (First Class)

Japan Rail Green Pass is a first class ticket which allows passengers to enjoy the most comfortable and best seats on all Shinkansen bullet trains and certain fast lines. The Green Pass is a First class ticket, guarantee access to the spacious seating areas on all bullet trains and assure a comfortable ride.
The Green Japan Rail Pass is a great idea if you are planning to visit Japan during busy periods (May, August and September) as beside higher comfort of your journey and the green Cars are mostly not as busy as standard trains which is a reassurance to have a seat available. The JR Green Pass entitles travelers to travel in the ‘Green Car’, the equivalent of our 1st class, on all Shinkansens and certain fast lines.

Eligibility requirements

The Japanese Rail Pass is available to all foreign visitors who have obtained a Japanese Tourist Visa. Holders of Japanese Tourist Visa may stay in Japan for maximum 90 days.It pertains to all travelers at every age. Permanent residents such as foreing workers, interns and students who have a residence permit will not be able to obtain a Japan Pass Rail either. The only visa which gives you the possibility to obtain a Japan Rail Pass is the Tourist visa. Citizens from the 68 countries are exempt from a Tourist visa to enter Japan.Those will not have to obtain a Tourist visa in advance as they will receive a visa-on-arrival stamp.The visa on arrival will be given to the visitors from the countries listed below who will be traveling under one of the following purposes:Tourism, Commerce, Conferences, Family visits. The Japan Rail Pass is not eligible to purchase for Japanese nationals who live in Japan. However, Japanese people living abroad can apply for a Japan Rail Pass only if they are permanent residents of any country other than Japan for at least 10 years.